Comparison with other standards

There are several existing quality standards that are used by specific industry sectors. TIA QuEST Forum periodically undertakes initiatives to compare the TL 9000 standard with other quality management systems to communicate the similarities, differences and overlaps between these standards.

Click here for quick comparative table for TL 9000, IATF 16949 and CMMI

IATF (International Automotive Task Force) 16949
An ISO 9001-based standard in general use by the automotive industry, it applies to the design/development, production and, when relevant, installation and servicing of automotive-related products.

TL 9000 contains several unique requirements that are not present in IATF 16949 including regular reporting of specific performance measurements for benchmarking purposes.
View Detailed Comparison of TL 9000 and IATF 16949 (148KB)

CMMI (Capability Maturity Model Integrated)
CMMI is a process improvement approach that provides organizations with the essential elements of effective processes. It can be used to guide process improvement across a project, a division, or an entire organization. CMMI helps integrate traditionally separate organizational functions, set process improvement goals and priorities, provide guidance for quality processes, and provide a point of reference for appraising current processes.

Although, both TL 9000 and CMMI drive for product quality and consistency, they each have a different focus. Hence, the elements of the two systems don't map to one another directly. Another key difference is the five maturity levels defined in the CMMI model.
View Detailed Comparison of TL 9000 and CMMI (298KB)

Please note: These comparisons are scheduled to be updated this year, but the basic findings concerning the base systems are still very valid.